Ready to Lead

I have been asked to articulate by my professor at Rivier Unviersity, Dr. Susan E. Gately, author of the blog Teacher Tribe Travel Log why I want to become a school administrator.

Honestly, I never thought I would become an educator. When I graduated from Merrimack High School I decided to go to college and pursue my dream of becoming an actress and majored in theater. The experience I gained in my school’s dramatic arts program and the encouragement I received from my teacher led me to believe I could make it as a professional actor. Once I got to school and started coming down from the clouds, practicality, but more so fear of failing, soon settled in and I quickly changed my major to communication. I decided that I really didn’t want to live the life of a “starving artist.”

After earning my bachelor’s degree, I wanted to keep going and earn my Master’s in Business Education.  At that time I thought the corporate world was where I belonged. My plan was to earn a degree in Business Education with a certificate in Training and Development and become a coporate trainer working in a high-tech or telecommunications industry, versus the certificate to teach high school business and marketing. To help pay for my Master’s degree, I started working as a Graduate Assistant in the Admissions Office at New Hampshire College (now Southern New Hampshire University).

In this role, I was responsible for recruiting high school seniors to NHC. I traveled throughout the fall recruiting students from New Hampshire, Maine, Vermont, and parts of Northern New Jersey and Long Island, New York. I would visit guidance offices and attend college fairs and would pitch my school. It was a great job. I was able to meet hundreds of students and their families and was able to play a role in helping to shape the future career path of the students I worked with. Once travel season was over, I would work in the office, reading applications, conduct interviews, make admission decisions, and organize on-campus recruiting events. Then in 1999 the tragic shooting at Columbine High School occurred and it was then that I began to realize what career path I should be taking as opposed to my original plan.

I realized that I was having an impact on the lives of the students and parents that I helped through the admission process, but I determined that becoming a teacher would allow me to have an even greater impact on the lives of students. I thought to myself, “if I can help inspire just one kid, then I’m doing my part.” I realilzed that the best part of my job was interacting with the kids and that I absoutley loved it. I officially changed my major to Business Education and finished the coursework to earn my certification as a business and marketing teacher. It was the best career decision I ever made and I couldn’t imagine doing anything else.

I’ve been a teacher now for 12 years and my goal of impacting the lives of my students has been achieved many times over. I have influenced students to pursue marketing and business college degree programs and have seen many move on to successful careers in the business world. I’ve heard from parents who have said without me, their son or daughter may not have “made it.” To have this kind of impact and be able to inspire a young person to realize and reach their full potential is so rewarding. I think that’s the biggest part of being a teacher; to help your students find their passion and spark in life.

As an administrator, I will have the opportunity to have an even bigger impact on the lives of students. Creating policy, launching initiatives,  supporting teachers, communication with parents, and building a collaborative team of passionate leaders are several of the major reasons why I want to become an administrator. I want to work with other passionate leaders who love working with kids as much as I do and who want to make sure education is done right. My leadership, influence, and service to my school’s stakeholders will contribute to the school culture I wish to build. A culture where leadership is shared and learning is an on-going process for all.

One comment

Leave a Reply

