Highlighting my PLN

On Tuesday,  I was presented with a blogging challenge by Marialice Curran.

Screen Shot 2013-12-18 at 8.50.20 PM

I’m grateful to have met Marialice and excited to be collaborating with her in 2014! She is an educator who is truly dedicated to making a difference in the lives of her students. I hope the bloggers I have tagged will participate!

HERE ARE THE RULES:

  1. Acknowledge the nominating blogger.
  2. Share 11 random facts about yourself.
  3. Answer the 11 questions the nominating blogger has created for you.
  4. List 11 bloggers.  They should be bloggers you believe deserve a little recognition and a little blogging love!
  5. Post 11 questions for the bloggers you nominate to answer and let all the bloggers know they’ve been nominated.  (You cannot nominate the blogger who nominated you.)

Eleven Random Facts About Me:

1. I am a south paw
2. I am four feet, nine and a half inches tall (average height of the heel I wear is 3.5)
3. I caught a lemon shark in Key West
4. I’ve been a group fitness instructor for 15 years
5. I’ve lived in New Hampshire my entire life and I have never been skiing or snowboarding
6. I love to karaoke
7. I ran my first (and only) half marathon in 2009 and completed it in one hour and forty minutes (goal was two hours)
8. My original undergraduate college major was theater
9. I was a Division I cheerleader at the University of South Carolina
10. Career wise, I plan to be an administrator or college professor
11. I am addicted to caffeine

11 Questions I needed to answer for Marialice:

  1. Why did you start blogging?
    I created my blog when I was finishing my Master’s in Educational Administration at Rivier University. I blogged primarily to reflect on my own teaching and learning. And I still do.
  2. What was/is your favorite lesson to teach in the classroom?
    I taught a two-year Marketing and Business Management program at Pinkerton Academy  and the best lesson I taught (more so a unit) was on business planning. Students had to write a business plan and present their plans to a team of investors, include actual commercial bank lenders from within our community, “Shark Tank” style.
  3. If education wasn’t an option in any form, what would you be instead?
    A full-time fitness professional
  4. What was the hardest lesson you learned?
    Sometimes my ideas are too big.
  5. What is your proudest moment?
    The birth of my daughter.
  6. How do you explain your job to people?
    I teach high school students how to effectively manage and build their digital footprints through a course called Digital Literacy/Web 2.0. I also oversee my school’s student-led Help Desk, which serves as first-level technology support for students and teachers in our 1:1 iPad school.  My job is to help teachers identify meaningful technology they can integrate into their classrooms to improve teaching and learning.
  7. If you could send a message back to yourself 20 years ago, what would it say?
    Learn how to code, play the piano, and take singing lessons.
  8. If you could wave a magic wand and fix one thing about the public education system, what would it be and why?
    Adopt Finland’s model of standardized testing (really get rid of standardized tests entirely)
  9. If you could visit any event in recorded history, what event would you pick and why?
    The signing of the Declaration of Independence because I love this country.
  10. What is the title and author of the last book you read for fun?
    Teach Like a Pirate, David Burgess
  11. What book should I read over break? Which book is a must-read and why?
    Teach Like a Pirate. It’s a great way to get inspired for the second half of the school year.

It was difficult to only pick 11, but here are the Twitter handles, which lead to the blogs, of 11 interesting people I admire and respect. I hope they will participate!

1.  Sam Bresnahan  @slbresnahan1 
2.  Jennifer Judkins @jennjudkins
3. Jarred Hass @jarredhass
4. Jenny Kirsch @MsJennyKirsch
5. Craig Badura @mrbadura
6. Chris Shriver @ccshirver
7. Christy Brennan @christybrenn
8. Ben Schersten @benschersten
9. Paige Woodward @paige_woodward
10. Jason Markey @JasonMMarkey
11. Wade Whitehead @wadewhitehead

11 questions I have for my bloggers:

1. Who inspired you to become a teacher? (Sam and Paige, who was your most inspiring teacher?)
2. Do you believe in having both a “personal” and a “professional” Twitter account? Why or why not.
3. What was your favorite movie of 2013?
4. iPhone or Android?
5. Besides blogging and Twitter, what other social media tools do you use for networking?
6. What is your favorite TV series?
7. If could time travel, would you visit the past or the future? Why?
8. Do you have any New Year’s resolutions?
9. Cats or dogs?
10. Do you believe passing a course in Digital Literacy should be a graduation requirement? Why or why not?
11. PC or MAC? I had to ask!

Leave a Reply

