Day 2: An “A to Z” Guide of Apps & Web 2.0 Tools

Today I came closer to one of my resolutions, leaving Burlington at a decent time, but I am not 100% there yet! I’m not going to beat myself about it. Tomorrow is a new day. I am however sticking to my resolution of blogging more and the focus of this post just so happens to be on a blogging tool.

Today’s Tool: BloggerScreen Shot 2014-01-07 at 8.29.55 PM

Blogger is the preferred tool for students in Burlington to use to create their digital portfolios (a sample high school portfolio template can be found here). Additionally, many teachers throughout the district use Blogger for their classroom blogs. My Principal, Mark Sullivan, maintains his blog using Blogger, as does Patrick Larkin, Burlington’s Assistant Superintendent of Learning. Some of the best educational blogs in the country (I’ll let you make your own determination as to which ones I’m referring to) are maintained using Blogger. In other words, if you haven’t yet started your own blog and are wondering which platform you should use, Blogger should definitely be on your list to consider.

Why Choose Blogger?

Like most free blogging tools, Blogger can be easily customized. There are a variety of templates, backgrounds, colors, and layouts to choose from to give your blog just the right look. Once your blog has been created, posts can be written and published directly from the Blogger app, a no-brainer if you are in a 1:1 iPad school like Burlington. Once you are ready to get started with Blogger, there are plenty of tutorials that can be found on YouTube that will walk you through the process step by step (if necessary). When I started my own blog, I selected WordPress, but if I could start all over, I’d seriously consider blogger.

What’s your blogging tool of choice? Should I make the switch to Blogger?

Leave a Reply

